Scottish Alternative Music Awards shortlist named

The nominees for this year’s Scottish Alternative Music Awards (SAMAs) have been announced ahead of next month's ceremony and bash.

Feature by News Team | 17 Sep 2015

Scottish Album of the Year winner Kathryn Joseph is nominated in the Best Live Act category alongside fellow SAY nominees Errors and emerging Highland six-piece Neon Waltz. Glasgow rockers Catholic Action – fronted by Casual Sex drummer Chris McCrory – are named in the Rock/Alternative category, while alt-pop duo BDY_PRTS are nominated for the Best Electronic award.

Elsewhere, there are nominations for Edinburgh two-piece Man of Moon, Glaswegian virtuoso C Duncan and hard rock trio Holy Mountain.

The Scottish Alternative Music Awards 2015 takes place at The Garage, Glasgow on 8 October, with live sets from Holy Esque and Crash Club alongside yet-to-be-announced past SAMA winners.

Best Rock/Alternative (sponsored by Emubands)
Catholic Action
Dear John

Best Newcomer (sponsored by UWS Creative)
Martha Ffion
White Baer
Man Of Moon
Bella & The Bear

Best Hip Hop (sponsored by Splitter Scotland)
Delighted Peoples
Dj Yemster & Hextasy
The Ill Collective
Bigg Taj & Speesixnine
Spring Break

Best Electronic (sponsored by Eventbrite)
Our Future Glory
Crash Club
Clyde Rouge

Best Acoustic (sponsored by CitizenM)
C Duncan
The Jellyman’s Daughter
Stella Reilly
Best Girl Athlete
Sean C Kennedy
Dr Wook

Best Live Act (sponsored by Bar Bloc)
Ded Rabbit
Copper Lungs
Kathryn Joseph
Colonel Mustard & The Dijon 5
Neon Waltz

Best Metal (sponsored by Cathouse Glasgow)
Mountains Under Oceans
The Amorettes
Holy Mountain
Seed Of Sorrow
Blackened Ritual