SAY Award 2016 longlist revealed

Feature by Dave Kerr | 12 May 2016

The twenty-strong longlist for this year's Scottish Album of the Year Award (SAY Award) has been unveiled.

An industry wide panel of nominators, from the margins as well as the mainstream – ranging through journalists, broadcasters, producers and veteran musicians – ensured that 2014 SAY Award-winners Young Fathers made the list for White Men Are Black Men Too, alongside Mercury Prize nominee C Duncan for Architect and former Beta Band frontman Steve Mason for his third solo album Meet The Humans read Mason's exclusive track-by-track guide to the album.

In Search of Harperfield from former Delgado Emma Pollock also makes the longlist, as does Django Django's latest Born Under Saturn, and the debut album from Franz Ferdinand and Sparks supergroup FFS. Scotland's electronic music scene is also well-represented in this year's SAY Award longlist, with the latest albums from Miaoux Miaoux, The Revenge, Hudson Mohawke and Highlife's Auntie Flo among the nominees, alongside the sophomore release from synth-pop trio CHVRCHES.

It's the fifth year of the SAY Award; previous winners include Kathryn Joseph's Bones You Have Thrown Me and Blood I’ve Spilled in 2015, RM Hubbert for Thirteen Lost & Found in 2013, and Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat for their collaboration Everything's Getting Older in 2012.

The SAY Award's public vote takes place between 6-8 Jun. The shortlist announced on 9 Jun with a ceremony announcing the prize winner to follow on 29 Jun. Read the full longlist below

Scottish Album of the Year Award (SAY Award) 2016 longlist:

Admiral Fallow – Tiny Rewards
Auntie FloTheory Of Flo
CHVRCHES – Every Open Eye
C DuncanArchitect
Django Django Born Under Saturn
Dunedin Consort – J.S. Bach Magnificat
Hector Bizerk – The Waltz Of Modern Psychiatry
Jarlath Henderson – Hearts Broken, Heads Turned
Lau – The Bell That Never Rang
Steve Mason – Meet The Humans
Anna Meredith – Varmints
Miaoux Miaoux – School Of Velocity 
Hudson MohawkeLantern
Iain Morrison – Eas
Emma Pollock – In Search Of Harperfield
The RevengeLove That Will Not Die
Primal Scream – Chaosmosis
Rachel Sermanni – Tied To The Moon
Young FathersWhite Men Are Black Men Too