The Skinny Food and Drink Survey 2019: The Winners

Just want a quick list of some of Scotland's best food and drink spots? Here are all of this year's winners, in alphabetical order

Feature by The Skinny | 07 Jan 2019
  • The Skinny Food and Drink Survey 2019: The Winners

Every year this happens; we ask you lot to tell us your favourite bars, restaurants and other foodie spots, and you respond with thousands of suggestions leaving us with a massive logistical headache and rumbling tummies. This year's selection of winning venues covers a bit of everything – there's cosy cafes to hide out in, spicy dishes to wake you up from a midday slumber, bars working at the cutting edge of the beer world, and expertly-curated shop shelves that you want to just tip straight into your cupboard. Dive in, find somewhere new to try, and let us know how you get on. 

Best Breakfast

The Brunch Club, 67 Old Dumbarton Rd, Glasgow; thebrunchclub.co
Cafe Strange Brew, 1082 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/cafestrangebrew
Comet Pieces, 150 Queen Margaret Dr, Glasgow; cometpieces.co.uk
Dishoom, 3a St Andrew Square, Edinburgh; dishoom.com/edinburgh
Loudons, 94b Fountainbridge, Edinburgh; loudons.co.uk
MalaCarne, 1036 Cathcart Rd, Glasgow; malacarne.co.uk
Roseleaf, 23-24 Sandport Pl, Edinburgh; roseleaf.co.uk
Singl-end, 263 Renfrew St, Glasgow; thesingl-end.co.uk

Best Cafes and Coffee Shops

Comet Pieces, 150 Queen Margaret Dr, Glasgow; cometpieces.co.uk
In Bloom, 48 Clarendon Pl, Glasgow; facebook.com/glasgowinbloom
KAF Coffee, 5 Hyndland St, Glasgow; kafcoffee.co.uk
MalaCarne, 1036 Cathcart Rd, Glasgow; malacarne.co.uk
Primal Roast, 278 St Vincent St, Glasgow; primalroast.com
Roots, 18 William St, Edinburgh; rootsedinburgh.co.uk
Rose Theatre Cafe, 204 Rose St, Edinburgh; rosetheatreedinburgh.com/cafe
Tasty Buns, 67 Bread St, Edinburgh; facebook.com/TastyBunsBakeryEdinburgh

Best Drinks 

Edinburgh Gin; edinburghgin.com
Isle of Harris Gin; harrisdistillery.com
Pilot Beer; pilotbeer.co.uk
Rapscallion Soda; rapscallionsoda.com
Tempo Tea Bar; tempoteabar.com

Best Food and Drink Shop 

The Beer Cave, 43 Dalry Rd, Edinburgh; facebook.com/thebeercavescotland
Grunting Growler, 51 Old Dumbarton Rd, Glasgow; gruntinggrowler.com
Locavore, 349 Victoria Rd, Glasgow; glasgowlocavore.org
Lupe Pintos, 24 Leven St, Edinburgh and 313 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; lupepintos.com
Real Foods, 8 Brougham St and 37 Broughton St, Edinburgh; realfoods.co.uk
Roots, Fruits and Flowers, 451 & 455-457 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; rootsfruitsandflowers.com
Wee Beer Shop, 623 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; weebeershop.co.uk

Best Lunch or Dinner

El Cartel, 15-16 Teviot Pl and 64 Thistle St, Edinburgh; elcartelmexicana.co.uk
Five March, 140 Elderslie St, Glasgow; fivemarch.co.uk
Harmonium, 60 Henderson St, Edinburgh; harmoniumbar.co.uk
Julie's Kopitiam, 1109 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/julieskopitiam
MalaCarne, 1036 Cathcart Rd, Glasgow; malacarne.co.uk 
Nonya, 10 Claremont St, Glasgow; nonyaglasgow.co.uk
Rose Theater Cafe, 204 Rose St, Edinburgh; rosetheatreedinburgh.com/cafe
Roseleaf, 23-24 Sandport Pl, Edinburgh; roseleaf.co.uk
Tomillo, 8 Speirs Wharf, Glasgow; tomilloglasgow.co.uk

Best New Place

83 Hanover Street, Edinburgh; 83hanoverstreet.com
Bross Bagels, 105 Leith Walk, Edinburgh; brossbagels.com
The Brunch Club, 67 Old Dumbarton Rd, Glasgow; thebrunchclub.co
Comet Pieces, 150 Queen Margaret Dr, Glasgow; cometpieces.co.uk
El Perro Negro, 966 Argyle St, Glasgow; el-perro-negro.com
Five March, 140 Elderslie St, Glasgow; fivemarch.co.uk
Gnom, 758 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; gnomfood.com
Nauticus, 142 Duke St, Edinburgh; facebook.com/nauticusedinburgh
Nonya, 10 Claremont St, Glasgow; nonyaglasgow.co.uk
Rose Theatre Cafe, 204 Rose St, Edinburgh; rosetheatreedinburgh.com/cafe

Best Pub or Bar

The 78, 10-14 Kelvinhaugh St, Glasgow; the78barandkitchen.com
99 Hanover Street, Edinburgh; 99hanoverstreet.com
Inn Deep, 445 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; inndeep.com
Koelschip Yard, 686-688 Pollokshaws Road, Glasgow; koelschipyard.beer
Roseleaf, 23-24 Sandport Pl, Edinburgh; roseleaf.co.uk
Salt Horse, 57-61 Blackfriars St, Edinburgh; salthorse.beer
Stravaigin, 28 Gibson St, Glasgow; stravaigin.co.uk

Best Street Food or Takeaway

Babu Bombay Street Kitchen, various locations in Glasgow; babu-kitchen.com
Bross Bagels, 186 High St (Portobello) and 105 Leith Walk, Edinburgh; brossbagels.com
El Perro Negro, 966 Argyle St, Glasgow; el-perro-negro.com
Kurdish Street Food, 12-14 Allison St, Glasgow

Best Vegetarian and Vegan

The 78, 10-14 Kelvinhaugh St, Glasgow; the78barandkitchen.com
Harmonium, 60 Henderson St, Edinburgh; harmoniumbar.co.uk
The Hug & Pint, 171 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; thehugandpint.com
In Bloom, 48 Clarendon Pl, Glasgow; facebook.com/glasgowinbloom
MalaCarne, 1036 Cathcart Rd, Glasgow; malacarne.co.uk
Mono, 12 Kings Court, Glasgow; monocafebar.com
Tomillo, 8 Speirs Wharf, Glasgow; tomilloglasgow.co.uk