BAFTA Scotland New Talent nominees announced

Feature by News Team | 24 Mar 2015
  • Middle Man

The shortlist for this year's British Academy Scotland New Talent Awards – the annual awards that aim to shine a spotlight on emerging talent from across Scotland – has been announced. 

There are 39 nominees for this year's awards, spread across 13 categories. This year, the acting category is split into best actor and best actress – Lewis Baxter (Tide) and Nick Ikunda (Happy Together) face off against Darren Connell of BBC Scotland sitcom Scot Squad, while Connell's co-star Ashley Smith is up for best actress alongside Georgia Raymond and Hannah Ord for their roles in A Love Divided and Last Night In Edinburgh respectively.

In the drama category, Last Night In Edinburgh is up against Ben Sharrock's Patata Tortilla and RTS Scotland Student Awards winner The Scribbler; Sarah Grant's The Cyclist, Glasgow 2014 commission The Wee 'Hings, and Middle Man – shortlisted in our 2014 Short Film Competition – are nominated in the entertainment category. The full list of nominees can be found below.

There will also be an overall Best New Work winner announced on the night, drawn from the winners in each of the categories – last year's honour went to the team behind documentary Finding Family.

The 2015 BAFTA Scotland New Talent Awards will be handed out in a ceremony at The Arches in Glasgow on Thu 9 Apr; tickets for the event are on-sale now, priced £20.

More from The Skinny:

Enter The Skinny 2015 Short Film Competition & win £3000 of olympus camera equipment

British Academy Scotland New Talent Awards 2015 nominations in full:

Actor (Supported By The Woven Thread)
Lewis Baxter – Tide
Darren Connell – Scot Squad
Nick Ikunda – Happy Together

Hannah Ord – Last Night In Edinburgh
Georgia Raymond – A Love Divided
Ashley Smith – Scot Squad

Domestic Appliances – Lewis Firth Bolton (Edinburgh College Of Art)
Mitigating Circumstances – Kieran Duncan, Tom Paxton, Steph Flynn, Phillip Vaughan (Duncan Of Jordanstone College Of Art & Design)
Separate Lives – Mayra Hernandez Rios, Jared Taylor, Aleksandra Kovač (Edinburgh College Of Art)

Steven Cameron – Ferguson Sick
Ian Forbes – Seahorse
Andrew O’Connor – The Still Heart Beating

Composer (Supported By PRS For Music)
Richy Carey – Lichtspiel: Opus I
Amin Keshmiri – The Scribbler
Alia E. Torrie – When The Tide Comes In

Anthony Devine – Boat
Marina Maclean – Waitress
Frances Collier – Whistle My Lad

Last Night In Edinburgh – Bita Shafipour, Chris Boyd (Sociarts Productions/Aeventh Crow)
Patata Tortilla – Ben Sharrock, Irune Gurtubai (Edinburgh Napier University/Screen Academy Scotland/Caravan Cinema/Rec)
The Scribbler – Kurosh Kani, Hannah Smith, Jennifer Barrie (The Royal Conservatoire Of Scotland)

Editor (Supported By Edit 123)
Ally Bhatia – Waitress
Benjamin Cook – The Scribbler
Artur Zaremba – Our Father

The Cyclist – Sarah Grant (Dream To Screen/Media Trust/ Cineworld Foundation/Jack Petchey Foundation)
Middle Man – Charlie Francis, Katie White (Falkirk Girl On Film)
The Wee ‘Hings – Iain Henderson, Stuart Jackson, Laura Briggs, Shaun Dempsey (Glasgow Clyde College/Creative Loop)

After The Crash – Tomasz Motyka (Albavideo)
Late Night In Glasgow – Kurosh Kani, Dayna Baptie, Louise Dawson (The Royal Conservatoire Of Scotland)
Marty Goes To Hollywood – Martyn Robertson, Ian Bustard (Urbancroft Films/ Bustard Productions)

Leila And The Little Folk – Bruce Lamond (Shinymonkey)
Revenant – Stuart Tait, Ellen Brown, Mark Thompson, Vince Finlayson (Blank Canvas)
Seek – Vimarsh Raina, Amy Stevens, Jessica Hider, Christopher Dickson (Fivepixels)

Richy Carey – Phonic Imagery
Chris Gayne – Anna
Kevin Walls – Identical

Writer (Supported By Creative Scotland) 
Gillian Park – Flotsam
James Price – Dropping Off Michael
Ben Sharrock – Patata Tortilla