The Pop Group, Wildbirds and Peacedrums confirmed for Supersonic Festival 2015

Feature by News Team | 18 Feb 2015
  • The Pop Group

Experimental music and arts festival Supersonic has unveiled a first wave of line-up announcements for its 12th edition, to take place in Birmingham this June.

Liima – the new project from Danish indie trio Efterklang, alongside Finnish percussionist Tatu Rönkkö – and returning post-punk visionaries The Pop Group are among the key names confirmed, along with performance and discussion of Ben Chasney's new album as Six Organs of Admittance and a set from Swedish duo Wildbirds and Peacedrums.

This year's festival kicks off with a one-off show at Birmingham Town Hall by a host of electronic musicians led by Goldfrapp keyboardist Will Gregory under the pleasingly straightforward moniker of The Will Gregory Moog Ensemble (which features Portishead's Adrian Utley and composer Graham Fitkin among their number), while Sunday at Supersonic sees Northeast troubadour Richard Dawson host an afternoon of performances by a hand-picked selection of his favourite artists and musicians.

Supersonic also has a new home for 2015 – the festival's main stage will be housed at The Crossing venue in the city centre, with talks, workshops and the festival's second stage located at the nearby Boxxed venue. A Kickstarter fund to help finance the event recently got underway here.

Last year’s edition of Supersonic was headlined by Michael Gira-led noisemongers Swans alongside Matmos and Wolf Eyes, with Ex-Easter Island Head and Sleaford Mods also featuring over the course of the weekend.

Supersonic 2015 runs from 11–15 Jun at various venues across Birmingham. Early bird tickets are on sale via the festival’s Kickstarter page.

More from The Skinny:


Get more on this summer's festivals at

'Seven Days of Idlewild' – watch our series of exclusive videos