Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2017: Shortlist announced

The nominees for this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards for best show and best newcomer have been revealed

Feature by The Skinny | 23 Aug 2017

This year's best show shortlist features a record nine nominations, with eight shows nominated for the best newcomer award. On the main shortlist, there are nominations for Ahir Shah's "committed, focused, and articulate" political hour Control; Elf Lyons' deconstruction of the story of Swan Lake, SwanHannah Gadsby's show Nanette, which won the Barry Award at this year's Melbourne Comedy Festival; John Robins’ "funny and heartbreaking" show The Darkness of Robins; Mae Martin's "addictive and compelling" Free Festival show Dope; Mat Ewins' five-star hour of multimedia mayhem Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman and Spencer Jones' new show The AuditionBody of Work by Jordan Brookes and Sophie Willan's Branded complete the shortlist.

On the newcomer list there are nods for Chris Washington, Darren Harriott, Ed Night, Kwame Asante, Lauren PattisonLucy Pearman, Natalie Palamides, and Rob Kemp's Elvis Presley and Evil Dead 2 mash-up The Elvis Dead.

The winners of this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards will be announced on Sat 26 Aug.