Fatherson top The Skinny Scottish Album of 2018 vote

The Kilmarnock trio topped our readers' poll to find your favourite Scottish album of the past twelve months

Article by The Skinny | 29 Nov 2018

In what’s becoming a bit of a festive tradition, we asked you lot to cast your vote for your favourite Scottish album of the last twelve months, from a ten-strong shortlist put together by our music writers. And you did. In your thousands. Thanks for that.

In third place was Dance Music, the album from Frightened Rabbit and Editors supergroup Mastersystem, while genre-straddling Glasgow five-piece LYLO came in second with their debut record Post Era.

But top of your list for 2018 was Sum of All Your Parts, the third album from Kilmarnock’s own Fatherson. It’s an album that we gave the full five stars on its release back in September, saying that it “leaves long-lasting impressions that intensify with every listen,” and clearly you lot agreed. After a headline show at the Barrowlands and topping the bill at the Alternative Peers Ball at Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh last month, the band finish their 2018 with a set at Sleep In The Park in Dundee on 8 Dec.

Congratulations to Fatherson; your full top ten is below. We're revealing our music team’s pick of the year’s best albums all this week on the website, but you can read the top ten in full right now in the new print issue of The Skinny, available free at venues across Edinburgh, Glasgow and Dundee.

The Skinny's Scottish Albums of 2018: The results

1) Fatherson – Sum of All Your Parts
2) LYLO – Post Era
3) Mastersystem – Dance Music
4) Kathryn Joseph From When I Wake the Want Is
5) Young FathersCocoa Sugar
6) The Spook SchoolCould it Be Different?
7) Aidan Moffat & RM HubbertHere Lies the Body
8) SOPHIE – Oil of Every Pearl's Un-Insides
9) Martha FfionSunday Best
10) MakenessLoud Patterns

Read our recap of the year in Scottish Music, from our December issue
Frank Ocean, Bon Iver and plenty of Death Cab For Cutie – Fatherson talk us through the records that influenced their new album