Scottish Alternative Music Awards reveal nominees

The SAMAs return for a ninth edition later this month and announce a worthy set of nominees for 2018

Article by Jamie Dunn | 09 Oct 2018

The Scottish Alternative Music Awards is heading back to Saint Luke's in Glasgow later this month for its ninth edition, and today this year’s set of nominees were announced, and it’s a pleasingly eclectic line-up of quality artists.

As well as announcing the winners in the categories of Best Acoustic, Best Rock/Alternative, Best Newcomer, Best Live Act, Best Electronic, Best Metal and Best Hip Hop, the ceremony on 25 Oct will feature live performances from Blanck Mass and The Vegan Leather. 

The Best Newcomer category sees Zoe Graham up against The Dunts, Beta Waves and Crystal, while Best Rock/Alternative act is between Declan Welsh & The Decadent West, ST MARTiiNS, Voodoos and Lucia. Best Electronic sees Lanark Artefax up against Cucina Povera, LAPS and Lo Kindre.

One category that should prove particularly competitive is Best Live Act, where the avant-pop of Glasgow’s Free Love (fka Happy Meals) is nominated alongside Edinburgh-based electronic project Future Get Down, Glasgow indie five-piece Lylo and Rapid Tan, who are made up of members of Herbert Powell, Breakfast Muff and Spinning Coin.

Kobi Onyame – who is nominated in the Best Hip Hop category alongside The Honey FarmSolareye and Jackal Trades – will also appear at an intimate music seminar organised by the SAMAs on 10 Oct at Hard Rock Cafe in Glasgow. Confirmed to perform so far is previous SAMA winner Kid Robotik, while the seminar speakers will include promoter Alana Hepburn and Suzanne Miller from Help Musicians Scotland.

"It is exciting to be bringing the SAMAs back for the ninth year and announcing the nominees for 2018 today,” said Richy Muirhead, SAMAs Director. “This year’s nominations show the incredibly diverse music culture that exists across Scotland. The SAMAs will be a giant celebration and opportunity for many people to discover new and exciting artists."

The SAMAs ceremony takes place on Thu 25 Oct, Saint Luke's, Glasgow; Scottish Hip Hop: Collaborations, Community and What’s to Come takes place on 10 Oct, Hard Rock Cafe, Glasgow.

The full list of nominees for all seven SAMA categories is below:

Best Acoustic sponsored by Assai UK
Blue Rose Code
Hamish Hawk
Zoe Bestel
Megan Airlie

Best Rock/Alternative sponsored by Eventbrite UK
Declan Welsh & The Decadent West

Best Newcomer sponsored by The Academy Of Music & Sound
Zoe Graham
The Dunts
Beta Waves

Best Live Act sponsored by XpoNorth
Free Love
Rapid Tan
Future Get Down

Best Electronic sponsored by citizenM hotel
Cucina Povera
Lanark Artefax
Lo Kindre

Best Metal sponsored by Hard Rock Cafe Glasgow
Bleed From Within
Lotus Eater

Best Hip Hop sponsored by Help Musicians Scotland
The Honey Farm
Kobi Onyame
Jackal Trades