The SAY Award 2019: public vote opens 12 August

Have your say and cast your vote for your favourite album from this year's SAY Award longlist, ahead of the shortlist announcement on Thursday 15 August

Article by Dylan Tuck | 09 Aug 2019
  • SAY Award

Ahead of the longlist for the Scottish Album of the Year Award being cut down to a final shortlist of ten next week, the public will get to have their say (geddit?) on their favourite album to make the shortlist ahead of the final stages of the competition by partaking in The SAY Award public vote.

The vote – open for 72 hours from Monday 12 August until Wednesday 14 August over at – will guarantee the band or artist with the most votes a place on the final shortlist, which is set to be revealed on a special BBC Radio Scotland show at 9pm on Thursday 15 August. On top of that, the winners will secure a minimum of £1,000 in prize money and a chance of becoming 2019's Scottish Album of the Year.

As a bonus, by taking part, voters will be automatically entered into a ballot to win a pair of tickets to the exclusive invite-only SAY Award ceremony. The vote is free to enter and limited to one vote per person.

This year’s SAY Award will take place in Edinburgh’s Assembly Rooms, where the winner of the SAY Award 2019 will be crowned on Friday 6 September. The winner will receive a whopping £20,000 cash prize, while each of the other shortlisted artists will receive £1,000. The full longlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year award can be found below.

The 2019 SAY Award longlist in full:

Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies the Body
Aidan O’Rourke – 365: Vol. 1
Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
Auntie FloRadio Highlife
Brìghde Chaimbeul – The Reeling
C Duncan – Health
Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
CHVRCHES – Love is Dead
Edwyn Collins – Badbea
Fatherson – Sum of All Your Parts
Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
Free Love – Luxury Hits
Graham Costello’s Strata – Obelisk
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson – Laws of Motion
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake the Want Is
Kinnaris Quintet – Free One
Mastersystem – Dance Music
Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là
Sean Shibe – softLOUD
The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All the Time

The public vote for The Say Award 2019 is open for 72 hours from Monday 12 August until midnight on Wednesday 14 August; cast your vote at