Scottish Album of the Year 2015 shortlist announced

Feature by News Team | 28 May 2015

The ten-strong shortlist for the 2015 Scottish Album of the Year – aka the SAY Award – has been announced.

This year's shortlist is an eclectic mix of established names and newer faces to the Scottish music scene. The debut albums from duos Happy Meals and Honeyblood both make the list, as do LPs from returning techno duo Slam and indie mainstays Belle and Sebastian.

Young Fathers – who won the 2014 award for Tape Two – make the shortlist once again, while Paolo Nutini won the public vote for a guaranteed place on the shortlist. PAWS, Errors, Kathryn Joseph and now-defunct trio The Amazing Snakeheads complete the line-up.

A number of high-profile albums from 2014 failed to make the cut, with Mogwai’s Rave Tapes and Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave by The Twilight Sad among the more notable omissions from the twenty-strong longlist announced last month.

The 2015 SAY Award will be presented at the O2 ABC in Glasgow on Wed 17 June; we're giving away copies of each of the twenty albums on this year's longlist – click here to enter our competition, which closes on 31 May.

2015 SAY Award shortlist:
Belle and Sebastian – Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance
Errors – Lease of Life
Happy Meals – Apèro
Honeyblood – Honeyblood
Kathryn Joseph – Bones You Have Thrown Me And Blood I've Spilled
Paolo Nutini – Caustic Love (Winner of the Public Vote)
PAWS – Youth Culture Forever
Slam – Reverse Proceed
The Amazing Snakeheads – Amphetamine Ballads
Young Fathers – DEAD

More from The Skinny:

Watch Session Tracks From Young Fathers, Idlewild And More In Our Say Awards Playlist

Get our top ten events guide in your inbox every week – sign up to the Zap!