Frightened Rabbit to release Tiny Changes covers album

To mark the tenth anniversary of The Midnight Organ Fight and to honour the life of the band’s frontman Scott Hutchison, Frightened Rabbit are releasing a version of the album titled Tiny Changes, in collaboration with some of their friends

Article by Jamie Dunn | 17 Jun 2019
  • Frightened Rabbit live at The O2 Academy, Glasgow

Last April marked the tenth anniversary of The Midnight Organ Fight, Frightened Rabbit's brilliant second album. At the beginning of 2018, the band had planned to celebrate this landmark anniversary by asking some of their talented musician friends to take a crack at songs on the album and come up with their own versions of its tracks. This album of covers was due to be released last summer, before the tragic passing of frontman Scott Hutchison in May.

The band have announced today that they’ve decided to release this record as a tribute to Scott. The album will be called Tiny Changes – the same name as the charity that was set up in Scott’s name last month – and will be released on 12 July via Atlantic. The line-up for the record includes Julien Baker (who collaborated with the band on their Recorded Songs EP in 2017), Craig Finn of The Hold Steady, Lauren Mayberry of CHVRCHES (who teams up with The National guitarist Aaron Dessner), The Twilight Sad and Daughter. Listen to Baker's version of The Modern Leper in the player below:

Find the full tracklist at the foot of the page; below is the statement from Frightened Rabbit announcing the project:

“To celebrate the 10 year anniversary/birthday of The Midnight Organ Fight we wanted to avoid the usual approach of just repressing the vinyl, or rereleasing the same record with different artwork or putting out demos that were never meant to be heard by anyone other than the band and maybe our parents. We came up with the idea of asking some pals to record their own interpretations of the songs on the album. It felt like a good way to celebrate everyone who had been a part of the last ten years of the band and we didn't have to do any work ourselves! Every single person on Tiny Changes has been a part of our lives and Frightened Rabbit in a special way over the last ten years. We've shared studios, vans, bars, dressing rooms and probably even underwear with some of these people and that's why this record is so special to us.

“Scott was a vital part of bringing this album together and it's something he was very excited about and worked hard to bring to life. He listened to and approved every track on there with us and he had already started preparing the artwork which you'll see on there (if you buy it). This is a celebration of a record that connected thousands of people to Scott and connected thousands of people to each other and ten years on it is still managing to do it. Scott would probably have put in some joke here about when the album hits puberty and starts rebelling by smoking weed and getting things pierced. We're not that funny so instead let's just raise a glass, blow out the candles and make a wish.

“We wish the album was available for pre-order tomorrow and that it will come out July 12th and you'll be able to listen to two covers of Modern Leper straight away when you pre-order! Now we've told you it probably won't come true but we'll keep everything crossed for you.”

Grant, Andy, Simon and Billy x

Tiny Changes tracklisting: 

The Modern Leper by Biffy Clyro
I Feel Better by Oxford Collapse
Good Arms vs Bad Arms by Fiskur
Fast Blood by Right On Dynamite
Old Old Fashioned by Josh Ritter
The Twist by Wintersleep
Bright Pink Bookmark by The Philistines Jr.
Head Rolls Off by Craig Finn
My Backwards Walk by Harkin & Sarah Silverman
Keep Yourself Warm by Benjamin Gibbard
Extrasupervery by Inletts
Poke by Daughter
Floating In The Forth by The Twilight Sad
Who'd You Kill Now? by Aaron Dessner & Lauren Mayberry
The Modern Leper by Julien Baker
The Twist by Piano Bar Fight 
My Backwards Walk by Manchester Orchestra