Electric Fields reveals new wave of bands for 2017

A fresh selection of names have been added to the line-up for Electric Fields festival at Drumlanrig in September

Feature by The Skinny | 27 Apr 2017

Among the new additions are hotly-tipped Paisley emcee Shogun, Manchester rockers PINS, Glasgow hip-hop producer Wuh Oh, chamber pop outfit Modern Studies, politically-charged Glasgow songwriter Declan Welsh and his band The Decadent West, and Edinburgh bands SKJØR and Stillhound. They're joined by Kettering psych quartet Temples, US indie duo Foxygen, local favourites Fatherson and Philadelphia shoegazers Nothing. 

The new names join a line-up headed by Frightened Rabbit and grime legend Dizzee Rascal, which also features Kate Tempest, Arab StrapThe Jesus & Mary Chain, US slacker rock outfit Car Seat Headrest, afrobeat-inspired Glasgow duo Sacred Paws and Edinburgh electro newcomers Future Get Down. Real Estate, Glass Animals, SAY Award-winner Anna Meredith, British Sea Power and Paisley art-poppers The Vegan Leather also feature at the Drumlanrig festival. Read the full list of confirmed acts for Electric Fields 2017 below. 

Neu! Reekie! and Sneaky Pete's stage details

The festival's Sneaky Pete's electronic stage is bolstered by a host of regulars from the Edinburgh club, including Athens of the North, Wasabi Disco and TEESH. They join Jackmaster, Denis Sulta, Artwork, Space Dimensions Controller and Lord of the Isles.

The line-up for Neu! Reekie!'s spoken word, comedy and animation showcase has also been revealed, with N!R! ringleaders Michael Pedersen and Kevin Williamson joined by BAFTA-winning animators Will Anderson & Ainslie Henderson, playwright Alan Bissett, author Jenni Fagan, poets Hollie McNish, Jackie Kay, Liz Lochhead and many more. Neu! Reekie! have also lined up music from TeenCanteen's Carla J Easton and Scott Hutchison of festival headliners Frightened Rabbit.

Electric Fields 2017 takes place at Drumlanrig Castle, Dumfries & Galloway on 1 & 2 September; read our two-part review of Electric Fields 2016.

Electric Fields 2017 line-up

New to the line-up:
Foxygen, Fatherson, Temples, Nothing, Whyte Horses, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, PINS, Rogue Emperor, Declan Welsh & The Decadent West, Shogun, The Medicine Men, Dave Wakeling’s The Beat, Modern Studies, Birdhead, Shogun, Skjør, Edwin Organ, Wuh Oh, Stillhound, Rascalton, Divine, Athens of the North, Lee Clark, Melting Pot, Soul Jam, TEESH, Wasabi Disco, Jackie Kay, Liz Lochhead, Hollie Mcnish, Jenni Fagan, Billy Letford, Alan Bissett, Louie & The Lochbacks, Janette Ayachi, Leyla Josephine, Jim Monaghan, Iona Lee, Michael Pederson, Kevin Williamson, Will Anderson & Ainslie Henderson (Animation Showcase), Carla J Easton (TeenCanteen).

Previously announced:
Dizzee Rascal, Frightened Rabbit, Band of Horses, Glass Animals, Peter Hook & The Light, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Arab Strap, Kate Tempest, Car Seat Headrest, Real Estate, British Sea Power, Anna Meredith, This Is The Kit, Aldous Harding, Marnie, Sacred Paws, Savage Mansion, Future Get Down, The Cut, The Vegan Leather, The Calm Fiasco, Nieves, 13 Crowes, Tiderays, Jackmaster, Artwork, Denis Sulta, Lord of the Isles, Space Dimension Controller, Crash Club, And Yet It Moves, Brat and the Bonemen.