Creative Edinburgh Award winners announced

Feature by News Team | 14 Nov 2014

This year’s Creative Edinburgh Awards have been handed out, with an eclectic mix of winners across the eight categories.

Tommy Perman and Rob St. John’s Water of Life project, which sought to map out the various rivers and streams of the capital using sound, writing and photography, won the award for Collaboration, while food events organisers Jelly & Gin – the team behind a host of site-specific and multi-sensory food experiences – were named best Start-up.

The Science Ceilidh project – which features a live ceilidh band made up of research scientists – won the Social award, and Olaf Furniss won the Anchor award for his work on the Born to Be Wide series of music industry seminars and events.

There were also wins for Edinburgh UNESCO City of Literature Trust (City Award), publisher White Light Media (Commercial Award), Lars Koens, Demelza Kooij & Pete Smith’s GRAMINOIDS project (Creativity Award), and illustrator David Mahoney (Student Award).

The 2014 Creative Edinburgh Awards were dished out at the Creative Edinburgh 3rd birthday party at Assembly Roxy last night.

Creative Edinburgh Awards winners and shortlists:

The Anchor Award
Olaf Furniss: Born to be Wide (WINNER)
Mark Daniels: New Media Scotland
Greg Sinclair

The City Award
Edinburgh UNESCO City of Literature Trust (WINNER)
Edinburgh Art Festival
Hidden Door

The Collaboration Award
Tommy Perman & Rob St. John: Water of Life (WINNER)
Grid Iron Company & The Edinburgh International Book Festival: Letters Home

The Commercial Award
White Light Media: Hot Rum Cow (WINNER)
Analogue Books
The Leith Agency: Irn In Our Blood

The Creativity Award
Lars Koens, Demelza Kooij & Pete Smith: GRAMINOIDS (WINNER)
Jelly & Gin
The Traverse Theatre: Writing on the Wall Project

The Social Award
The Science Ceilidh (WINNER)
A-Team Productions
Collective Self Build

The Start-up Award
Jelly & Gin (WINNER)
BeFab Be Creative
Emily Millichip

The Student Award
David Mahoney (WINNER)
Yme Gorter and Paul J. de Ridder: The Green Switch Project
Jack Proctor: Fudge The Dog