The Skinny Food & Drink Survey 2018: The Winners

The full list of winners in our annual readers' Food and Drink Survey

Feature by The Skinny | 03 Jan 2018
  • January 2018 cover

The new year, they say, is a chance to both reflect on the past and look forward to a bright future. Sounds ridiculous – how can you look back and forward at the same time? Are you switching from one to the other, or just slowly rotating like a pie in a microwave? – but in the case of your favourite annual food and drink round-up, it's the truth. Here you'll find a comprehensive round-up of all your favourite food and drink spots from the past year, to help you get your 2018 munching off to a flyer.

The headline news is that the vegans are here, and they're taking over. Meat-free food has always been lurking on the periphery of Scotland's dining scene, but in the past year or two there's been an explosion of cool, trendy and mouthwatering veggie and vegan spots taking the place by storm. We take a look at your favourite veggie spots on p11 to find out just what's going on.

Elsewhere, we delve into your favourite pubs (you seem to like a nice range of places) and your top cafes (you all seem to love taking photos of your coffee and cakes), as well as the country's best food and drink shops, restaurants, and the best new places to throw open their doors in the past year. We've also introduced new categories looking at some of the best dishes popping up on Scotland's menus, so if you want to know where the best tacos, Bloody Marys and breakfasts are, we've got you covered.

Thanks to everyone who voted in this year's survey – nothing makes our Christmases quite like trawling through thousands of votes to find out where to go for a good sandwich – and read on for a look at some of the best food and drink Scotland has to offer. No time like the present, eh?

Best Cafe

Cafe Strange Brew, 1082 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/cafestrangebrew
The Hideout, 40-42 Queen Charlotte St, Edinburgh; facebook.com/thehideoutcafeleith
Ostara Cafe, 52 Coburg St, Edinburgh; ostaracafe.co.uk
POTLUCK, 38 Nithsdale Rd, Glasgow; potluckglasgow.com
Primal Roast, 278 St Vincent St, Glasgow; primalroast.com
Soy Division, 51 Kilmarnock Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/soydivisionglasgow

Best Food & Drink Shop

Lupe Pintos, 24 Leven St, Edinburgh & 313 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; lupepintos.com
Real Foods, 8 Brougham St & 37 Broughton St, Edinburgh; realfoods.co.uk
Roots Fruits & Flowers, 457 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; rootsfruitsandflowers.com
Valhalla's Goat, 449 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; valhallasgoat.com

Best Newcomer

Bross Bagels, 186 Portobello High St, Edinburgh; brossbagels.com
Harmonium, 60 Henderson St, Edinburgh; harmoniumbar.co.uk
In Bloom, 48 Clarendon Pl, Glasgow; facebook.com/glasgowinbloom
Pot Luck, 38 Nithsdale Rd, Glasgow; potluckglasgow.com
Ramen Dayo, 25 Queen St, Glasgow; ramendayo.com
Trenchtown, 4-8 Lochrin Buildings, Edinburgh; trenchtownsocial.com

Best Pub/Bar

Allison Arms, 720 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/theallisonarmspub
The Hanging Bat, 133 Lothian Rd, Edinburgh; thehangingbat.com
Inn Deep, 445 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; inndeep.com
Nobles, 44A Constitution St, Edinburgh; noblesbarleith.co.uk
Paradise Palms, 41 Lothian St, Edinburgh; theparadisepalms.com
Stereo, 22-28 Renfield Ln, Glasgow; stereocafebar.com

Best Restaurant

Aizle, 107-109 St Leonard’s St, Edinburgh; aizle.co.uk
Alchemilla, 1126 Argyle St, Glasgow; thisisalchemilla.com
Harmonium, 60 Henderson St, Edinburgh; harmoniumbar.co.uk
Mono, 12 Kings Court, Glasgow; monocafebar.com
Ox and Finch, 920 Sauchiehall St, Glasgow; oxandfinch.com
Paesano, 94 Miller St & 471 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; paesanopizza.co.uk
Ting Thai Caravan, 8-9 Teviot Pl, Edinburgh; tingthai-caravan.com
Trenchtown, 4-8 Lochrin Buildings, Edinburgh; trenchtownsocial.com

Best Takeaway & Street Food

Bross Bagels, 186 Portobello High St, Edinburgh; brossbagels.com
Chompsky, touring around Scotland; chompsky.co.uk
The Crema Caravan, touring around Scotland; thecremacaravan.co.uk
Kimchi Cult!, 14 Chancellor St, Glasgow; kimchicult.com
Los Cardos, 281 Leith Walk, Edinburgh; loscardosonline.com
The Pitt, 125 Pitt St, Edinburgh; thepitt.co.uk

Best Vegetarian/Vegan

13th Note, 50-60 King St, Glasgow; 13thnote.co.uk
Harmonium, 60 Henderson St, Edinburgh; harmoniumbar.co.uk
Hendersons, 94 Hanover St, 25c Thistle St & 67 Holyrood Rd, Edinburgh; hendersonsofedinburgh.co.uk
The Hug and Pint, 171 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; thehugandpint.com
Mono, 12 Kings Court, Glasgow; monocafebar.com
Ranjit's Kitchen, 607 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; ranjitskitchen.com

Best Beer

Brewdog; brewdog.com
Drygate; drygate.com
Fyne Ales; fyneales.com
Pilot; pilotbeer.co.uk
Tempest Brewing Co; tempestbrewco.com
WEST; westbeer.com
Williams Bros.; williamsbrosbrew.com

Best Breakfast

Cafe Strange Brew, 1082 Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow; facebook.com/cafestrangebrew
Loudons, 94b Fountainbridge, Edinburgh; loudons.co.uk
Ostara Cafe, 52 Coburg St, Edinburgh; ostaracafe.co.uk
Singl End, 265 Renfrew St, Glasgow; thesingl-end.co.uk

Best Bloody Mary

13th Note, 50-60 King St, Glasgow; 13thnote.co.uk
The Bungo, 17 Nithsdale Rd, Glasgow; thebungo.co.uk
Roseleaf, 23/24 Sandport Pl, Edinburgh; roseleaf.co.uk

Best Pizza

Civerinos, 5 Hunter Sq & 49 Forrest Rd, Edinburgh; civerinos.com
La Favorita, 325-331 Leith Walk, Edinburgh; vittoriagroup.co.uk
Origano, 236 Leith Walk, Edinburgh; origano-leith.co.uk
Paesano, 94 Miller St & 471 Great Western Rd, Glasgow; paesanopizza.co.uk

Best Sunday Lunch

The Butcher Shop, 1055 Sauchiehall St, Glasgow; butchershopglasgow.com
Chop House, Arch 15, East Market St & 102 Constitution St, Edinburgh; chophousesteak.co.uk
Scran and Scallie, 1 Comely Bank Rd, Edinburgh; scranandscallie.com
The Sheep Heid Inn, 43-45 The Causeway, Edinburgh; thesheepheidedinburgh.co.uk

Best Tacos

Bodega, 62 Elm Row, Edinburgh; ilovebodega.com
El Cartel, 64 Thistle St, Edinburgh; elcartelmexicana.co.uk
Taco Mazama, various in Edinburgh & Glasgow; tacomazama.co.uk
Topolabamba, 89 St Vincent St, Glasgow & 93 Lothian Rd, Edinburgh; topolabamba.com

http://theskinny.co.uk/food