Formed in Glasgow in 2004, Errors were originally a bedroom recording project consisting of Simon Ward, Stephen Livingstone and Greg Paterson. Fusing electronic pasages with the repetitive textures of post-rock, the trio shared guitar and keyboard duties, with Paterson occasionally operating as vocalist while Ward and Paterson handled programming. After signing with Rock Action, the label run by fellow Glaswegians Mogwai, the band released their debut EP How Clean Is Your Acid House? in 2006 - “It's apparent that these three young chaps enjoy their after club parties,” we said, praising its hypnotic hooks and intricate, rolling melodies.

Their debut album It’s Not Like Something But It Is Like Whatever followed two years later, with the band’s ranks swelled thanks to the permanent addition of live drummer James Hamilton (formerly of Dananananaykroyd). In February 2010, their sophomore LP Come Down With Me was released, showcasing the band’s developing style in marked step forward from its predecessor. “Errors' trajectory remains steady as a rock,” we said, before doffing caps to their incresing adventures in genre-hoppin: “It's just getting trickier to pin these boys down.” Nine months later, a remix album entited Celebrity Come Down With Me appeared, featuring contributions from The Twilight Sad, Mogwai and Ceephax Acid Crew.

In 2011, the band embarked on tours of the US and Canada, including a stop at South by Southwest, but closed the year on a sombre note with the departure of founder member Greg Paterson. The remaining trio picked up from where the four-piece line-up left off, releasing third opus Have Some Faith In Magic - “their most impressive album thus far” - in early 2012, and eight-track EP New Relics the following October.

Having taken a year’s hiatus, Errors returned in 2014 for a tour of Japan in support to fellow Glaswegians Chvrches, before retreating to a cottage on the Isle of Jura to record their fourth album Lease of Life. “Errors' collective heart has always been evident,” we said upon its release in March 2015, “but on Lease of Life, it beats that little bit louder.”

Errors Band Members

Simon Ward (guitar, keyboards, electronics)
Stephen Livingstone (guitar, keyboards, electionics, vocals)
James Hamilton (drums)

Former members

Greg Paterson (guitar, keyboards, vocals – 2004-2011)

Errors Discography

Errors have released four albums, plus the two EPs How Clean Is Your Acid House? and New Relics, all through Glasgow's Rock Action Records. The same label also released their debut single Hans Herman in 2005.

Come Down With Me (2010)
Have Some Faith In Magic (2012)
Lease of Life (2015)

Errors have toured with their label bosses Mogwai on multiple occasions, as well as fellow Glaswegians Chuvrches and Denmark's Whomadewho. They have also appeared at festivals including Eurosonic and SxSW. Their acclaimed fourth album Lease of Life was also nominated for the 2015 Scottish Album of the Year Award, ultimately losing out to Kathryn Joseph.