• The Skinny Gift Guide 2016

Shop Local: Design Gift Guide 2016

- | 29 Nov 2016

As thoughts turn to Christmas gifts, we asked a few of our favourite Scottish designers to lend us some of their beautiful wares, focussing on small batch, handmade production, with ethically sourced materials

1.

(Clockwise from left) Sunrise geometric patchwork pouffe by Fun Makes Good, £180
Baby Blanket by Tartan Blanket Co, £35
The Last Supper by Jessica Harrison, 2007, Lithograph, Edition of 30, £350 unframed, Edinburgh Printmakers
Gin baubles by Pickering’s, £30 for six
Elska shawls by Hilary Grant, £118
Galaxy Clock by Fun Makes Good, £25
Photo by Ross Fraser McLean
Barney’s Beer gift pack, £10
Victoria Peake Lomo instant camera, £179
Achroous Gin by Electric Spirit Co, from £35
Paolozzi Lager Limited Edition 6 Part gift pack £15, Limited edition 12 part gift pack £30

2.

(L-R) Lifestyle New Wool Blanket in Navy and Mustard Herringbone, Tartan Blanket Co, £60
Lifestyle Blanket New Wool Ginger Stripe Herringbone, Tartan Blanket Co, £65
Lifestyle New Wool Blanket in Rust Chevron, Tartan Blanket Co, £65
Classic Lifestyle Lambswool Blanket in Slate Blue Block Stripe, Tartan Blanket Co, £75
Elska shawl by Hilary Grant, mint, grey and white, £118
Hands on A1+ calendar 2017 by Risotto, £35
Eden A3 Calendar 2017 by Risotto, £20
Tea towel by Printed Peanut, £12

3.

(Clockwise from cactus) Calamine pink Geo block, by Cecilia Stamp Jewellery, earrings £28, Chunk ring £50
Gold mini Geo necklace, by Cecilia Stamp Jewellery, £95
Concrete vessel by Emma McDowell, £25
Jetstream Brooch in resin, Jo Pudelko, £185
Yogi Lotus collection by The Third Aye, eco silver, ring & necklace both £110, earrings £150
Lunar by Maeberry Jewellery, silver, £120
Heritage collection by Badger and Baird, gold vermeil. Crown Bangle £165, Crown Hoop earrings £120
Gold mini geo studs, Cecilia Stamp Jewellery, £78
Ultra Devon Necklace, Jo Pudelko, £350

4.

Ceramics by Natalie Wood: Detsu water carafe, £30, Detsu cup, £21, Detsu Low Pourer, £18
Gin Baubles by Pickering’s, £30 for 6

5.

Ruby Shoes Glitter by Sara Hill, £15

6.

(Clockwise from cactus) Resin and flower pendant by DandillionGil, £25
Glass earrings by Helen Chalmers, £10
Concrete vessel by Emma McDowell, £30
UHRLY watch by Swatch, £38
Resin and flower pendant by DandillionGil, £45
Vanilla Lip Butter by Lucky Cloud Skincare, £4 (trio set £10)
C201A / Chronograph watch by Paulin, £195
Commuter E watch by Paulin, £180
Glass earrings by Helen Chalmers, £10
Sweet Orange & Vanilla Body Balm by Lucky Cloud Skincare, £15
Lipsticks in Ava and Boysenberry by Sara Hill, £17

7.

Aqua Fade and Bell in Clear Crystal glasses by Iolla, £65 depending on prescription
Lifestyle Blanket New Wool Ginger Stripe Herringbone by Tartan Blanket Co, £65
Elska shawl by Hilary Grant, £118

8.

(Clockwise from top left) Concrete vessels by Emma McDowell, £20-30
Mumbai Lomo instant camera, £79
Natural handmade soaps by The Printed Peanut, £5.95
Conditioning Beard Oil by Westburn and Granite, £10
Galaxy Clock by Fun Makes Good, £25
Pickering’s miniature gin, £17 for three
C201A / Chronograph watch by Paulin, £195
Commuter E watch by Paulin, £180 

9.

Clocks by Emma McDowell, geometric £60, circle £70 
Elska shawl by Hilary Grant, £118

Find out more:

Products
Hilary Grant Scottish contemporary knitwear, hilarygrant.co.uk
The Tartan Blanket Co, tartanblanketco.com
Fun Makes Good, funmakesgood.co.uk
Lomography cameras, lomography.com
Paulin watches, paulinwatches.com
Swatch, swatch.com/en_gb
Iolla glasses, iolla.com

Art & Design
Jessica Harrison, jessicaharrison.co.uk
Edinburgh Printmakers, edinburghprintmakers.co.uk
Ross Fraser McLean photography, facebook.com/RossFraserMcLean
Risotto Studio, risottostudio.com
Emma McDowall concrete, emmamcdowall.co.uk
Natalie Wood ceramics, nataliejwood.com

Jewellery
The Third Aye, thethirdaye.com
Cecilia Stamp, ceciliastamp.com
Jo Pudelko, jopudelko.co.uk
DandillionGil, etsy.com/uk/shop/DandillionGil
Maeberry Jewellery, maeberryjewellery.com.
Badger and Baird, badgerandbaird.co.uk
Helen Chalmers, Helenchalmers.co.uk

Drinks
Electric Spirit Co. electricspirit.co
Pickering’s Gin, pickeringsgin.com
Barney’s Beer, barneysbeer.co.uk
Paolozzi Beer, edinburghbeerfactory.co.uk

Skincare & Beauty
Lucky Cloud Skincare, luckycloudskincare.com
Westburn and Granite grooming, westburnandgranite.co.uk
Sara Hill make-up, sarahill.com
The Printed Peanut, theprintedpeanut.co.uk

Credits:

Photography by Sarah Donley sarahdonley.co.uk
Styling by Rosamund West
Modelling by Sabrina & Kevin the Cacti